Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-05-2011, 15:09   #1

Boat: 27' catalina
Smile Slip Party ?

So i am just getting into sailing... well sort of i've been sailing since i was a kid but never taken the "right of passage" solo trip so...

Since i've been thinking of taking solo trip to catalina... it will obviously be my 1st time doing it totally solo... kind of nervous... any one have any tips? is it better to have a couple of other solo sailers with you (like how motorcycles do it...) so when i get to catalina i'll have someone there to hang with LOL!

on a side note i just got a new slip in newport Beach Ca, and a bunch of the guys like to get together on the weekends and BBQ after dark.. since i'm new i wanted to try something and hopefully impress...

i saw this and it inspired the idea to play a movie on my sail! ....

has anyone tried something like this? i have a 27' Catalina (coincidentally also the location of my 1st solo trip haha) so space is also issue since i will be doing it in the dark i figured i could pick up one of those "micro projectors" since i'll only need about a 75" image...

any one tried this? Am i crazy to do it? it would obviously have to be a calm night, but other than that?
Hulllotofun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2011, 17:27   #2

Re: Slip party?

Hull,

See this thread.

Take a crewman the first time. Have fun.
Old 27-05-2011, 18:36   #3

Boat: Traditional 30
Re: Slip party?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hulllotofun View Post
So i am just getting into sailing... well sort of i've been sailing since i was a kid but never taken the "right of passage" solo trip so...