Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > Rules of the Road, Regulations & Red Tape
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-05-2020, 04:47   #1

Non US citizen - state registered boat - unflagged and no nationality - a good idea?

Hello all,

This is my second attempt to buy a boat. The first one failed due to the condition of the boat.
Now I have a little more information about the rules and regulations attached to boat ownership and realize that they can be complicated, especially if one is not a US citizen, and the boat is one of those that potentially could cross an ocean.

I am a legal permanent resident, residing in Pennsylvania.
I plan to buy a Beneteau 40 and have her exclusively on the Chesapeake Bay, at least for the next two years.

What I know (or think that I know...)

- as a legal permanent resident can NOT document a vessel with the US coast guard.
- if the vessel I intend to buy is documented with the US coast guard, it has to be "undocumented" (for lack of a better term) before I can buy it.
- I have to register the vessel with the state where the boat is located most of the time. There I have to pay taxes.
- I can get a title for the boat from the state where the boat is registered.

If all of that is done:

- State registration alone doesn't give the vessel a nationality, and because it cannot be documented with the US coast guard, it will have the status of an UNFLAGGED/no nationality vessel.
- the vessel will assume the nationality of his owner (or captain?)
- Because I am NOT a US citizen, the boat will be considered a "foreign vessel."

So far, so good?

I am NOT sure.