Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > Rules of the Road, Regulations & Red Tape
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-01-2019, 15:32   #1

Boat: Tartan 3800
Minnesota DNR confirms that it is illegal to ride on the tubes of an inflatable boat

Wow.

Quote:
Sent: Monday, January 07, 2019 4:33 PM
To: MN_Info (DNR) <info.dnr@state.mn.us>
Subject: Boating safety rules interpretation for inflatable craft

Dear DNR:

I have been boating in Minnesota for many years and am familiar with the laws and regulations. I understand that it is unlawful to ride or sit on the gunwales of a motorboat while it is underway unless the boat is equipped with an appropriate railing. This is mentioned on p.35 of the 2018 boating guide.

I am considering the purchase of a rigid inflatable boat (RIB). The nature of these boats is that the sponsons (tubes/pontoons) that make up the sides are used for seating. This is the manufacturers' recommendation as it is the only way that these boats can accommodate a reasonable number of people and stay safely balanced.

Here is a web page from a manufacturer whose boats are being sold by a local dealer in Bloomington. Note the photographs illustrating the customary seating position for the operator on the sponson:

Classic 310 - Highfield Boats

My question is how the state law regarding seating on the gunwales is interpreted by the DNR for boats with this type of construction. If the DNR considers the sponsons to be the gunwales of the boat, making it unlawful to operate the boat while seated there, I would not purchase a boat of this type.

[ Reply from DNR ]