Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2014, 02:41   #1

inshore, offshore, ocean classification and insurance

hello guys,

I am relatively new in boating and I intend to buy 32 ft sailing boat in UK that has some signs of project ... I want to bring her up in order to enjoy some offshore trips and later also ocean trips

my questions is about insurance - do the insurance companies offer different insurance and have different requriments in relation to the area of sailing? I mean, for instance, if offshore life raft is reguired by the company in order to get insurence which covers the offshore area?

or do they provide just generall insurance without the dependence for some equipments?

probably both? in this case, which approach would you recommend?

thanks, tomas
arecuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 03:34   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Beneteau 473
Re: inshore, offshore, ocean classification and insurance

For an estimate on premiums, try some if the insurance company one line quotes, quick google will get you there.
Outside the norm, ocean passages, single handing for more then 24 hrs, you will need to speak to a broker. They will be more interested in your experience, crew experience, area of sailing. So for single handing off the coast of Somalia, you wont get insurance.
As for liferafts, I dont think they are bothered, after all, its the boat they are covering, not you, and besides, without a liferaft, they may think you would put a lot more effort into saving the boat and their interest.
nigel1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 11:54   #3

thanks for your post nigel1