Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-08-2014, 09:17   #1

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Denmark (Winter), Helsinki (Summer); Cruising the Baltic Sea this year!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Checking out of Schengen For Non-EU Citizens

Anyone know whether you are supposed to check out of Schengen and get your passport stamped when you leave? I've never done this before. I know for sure that you don't check out of the UK when you leave; only when you enter.

I don't want to make any mistakes, as I'm skating on thin ice in Schengen with more than 90/180 but with a temporary Finnish residence permit, so technically legal. I would hate to have to prove it, however, as my temporary residence permit is only in Finnish, which I doubt anyone here can read. Besides that, it's temporary.

I have just left Schengen by air to go to London for a day on business. The Danish passport guy didn't look through my passport at all, or ask any questions. I don't know whether this relaxed attitude is representative. There is, apparently, no database of Schengen entries/re-entries, so the only way a question would arise, AFAIK, is for the border guard to go through your entry/exit stamps.
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2014, 10:02   #2
Long Range Cruiser

Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Re: Checking out of Schengen For Non-EU Citizens

It can be a pain to get properly stamped out.
In Nice in France I had to go to the airport. The first time Immigration said I have to go to the port.. I argued to no avail...
second time I found it, you had to go to the tax refund window (like, go figure that one!) and then they had to go find the stamp with the little boat on it.

but its important.