Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-04-2011, 10:34   #1

Wood Maintenance on the Top Side

Bear with me here as I am fairly new to this sailing business. I am currently looking at boats and learning a bit here and there. While looking at a few models, I got very interested in the Beneteau yachts. I pointed one out to my wife and the first thing that came out her mouth was: "that looks really nice, but all that wood on the top of the boat looks like it would require a lot of frequent maintenance". Didn't even occur to me until she said something about it. Looks nice, but it does beg the question. How often and what type of maintenance does it require?
dgasmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2011, 11:23   #2
Sponsoring Vendor

Community Sponsor

Boat: FP Athena 38' Poerava
Re: Wood maintenance on the top side

Wood trim looks great at the dock, where you'll need to be to maintain it. You wanna cruise or sand?
Tellie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2011, 11:31   #3
C.L.O.D

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Hey Tellie.... That's mean!

It only needs that much maintenance if you wanna keep it looking good!
SaucySailoress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2011, 11:32   #4

Boat: csy 37

what tellie says.

i've got a boat with too much wood on it. beautiful to look at when it's been refinished but the biggest single pita on the boat. when looking at boats to buy, think of wood as being a negative rather than a positive. (note: i make this statement knowing that i'm a truly lazy person).

tell the admiral that if she really likes wood that much it will be her job to maintain it.