Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-03-2017, 11:56   #1

Boat: Morgan 323
Wood Boat Questions

Hi all, I have a question regarding wood boats: Some say there's no more maintenance than a glass or steel boat, while others say avoid like the plague if one doesn't want to spend all their time maintaining it.

For my plans, I have a 2-4 year timeline before the wife and I set off on our world voyage. I have lots of time to do necessary maintenance on it in the mean time, but up until the last couple of weeks, I haven't even thought of purchasing a wood boat. I have some wood working experience and plenty comfortable learning what I don't know and performing most work on my own (I think).

Any thoughts? I'm looking at a 62' Cheoy Lee Lion Class
SailAwy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2017, 14:17   #2

Boat: a sailing boat
Re: Wood Boat Questions

I have had both. I would never buy a wooden boat for any extended ocean adventure.

Both in same condition, grp vs. wood, I think the wooden boat requires x times more maintenance time than her plastick sister. I am open to suggestions on what number bigger than 1 x is.

Cheers,
b.
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2017, 14:44   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Wheeler Shipyard 83' ex USCG

I am a former shipwright and have worked on and owned wood and other boats from the 60s. I also commercial fished a 55' wood boat in all weathers. Properly done maintenance and painting, wood boats in light use are close to the same maintenance as other painted boats. But, proper paint and maintenance rarely gets done by the average boat owner or yard. Usually by the time you find a wood boat you can afford, the problems are more than skin deep and not easily patched.