Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-03-2018, 00:13   #1

Boat: Schionning Waterline 1480
West System Epoxy help

I'm new to this fibreglass epoxy stuff and making a bit of a mess.

PROBLEM 1.

The instructions tell me only mix at 5-1. At that, the mixing pot gets too hot to hold, and goes off before I have put on a single coat in about 6-8 minutes. It actually melts the plastic cup.

So I used some of my creative licence and altered the mix down to 8-1 which extended the cure rate to around 10-12 minutes and not as hot but the epoxy I applied takes much longer to cure than the mix in the pot ??

PROBLEM 2

I'm assuming this is my next problem anyway.
Tomorrow I am going to mix the epoxy with a West System filler and do some filling of holes and some tidy up of the glassing I have done. All of this is on a 45° slope and I am worried it will just run. At its thickest it may be 8mm 5/16" thick.
Old 31-03-2018, 00:54   #2

Re: West System Epoxy help

Are you using too fast catalyst? Also what is the ambient temp? Epoxy will heat up much faster if the temps are much over 70F/20C. How much epoxy are you mixing? Too much will produce significantly higher temps and faster cure times. Counter intuitive but that's epoxy for you.

I haven't used West in a while as I found it to be too unforgiving if the mixing ratio is off. I use industry sold stuff which I buy from a local carbon mast manufacturer. He says his stuff is so much more forgiving about the mixing ration that it could be mixed at anywhere from 3:1 to 3:2, by weight not volume. Plus it is about 1/2 the price of West.
Island Time O25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2018, 01:06   #3

Boat: Woods Mira 35 Catamaran

In the case of Epoxy you should never alter the mixing ratio unless a different hardener specfies it.