Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2012, 16:00   #1

Boat: Sabre 34-1 (sold) and Saga 43
Waxed vs UNwaxed Poly resin

I'm starting a project on my boat, and I'll be using polyester resin. I know there are advantages to epoxy, but cost isn't one. My hull is polyester, and so I'll get decent strength (sufficient for my project) from polyester.

I'm using brand new resin, and it says "contains no wax." I know what that is supposed to mean, although I've never used it before. I just completed a small part, and the work went well. My mix ratio appears to have been good, as it was workable for about 1/2 hour, and cured rock hard the next morning. It has cured for a day now, and I'm pleased.

Here's my question. As an "UNwaxed" resin, it should cure tacky (at least that's my understanding). The glass work, as well as the 1/8" left in the tub, both cured shinny, hard, and not the least bit "tacky." That doesn't sound like what I expected! The can clearly says "contains no wax." The product is MarPro, targeted for the trades market, so it has little information on the can -- but tradesmen expect it to mean what it does say.

Can anyone tell me how to tell if it is really unwaxed? Can I tell if it is waxed? And the million dollar question -- can I safely put gelcoat over this?

Thanks

Harry
sailingharry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 16:53   #2
Resin Head

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Nauticat
Re: Waxed vs UNwaxed Poly resin

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailingharry View Post
I'm starting a project on my boat, and I'll be using polyester resin. I know there are advantages to epoxy, but cost isn't one. My hull is polyester, and so I'll get decent strength (sufficient for my project) from polyester.