Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-03-2008, 17:17   #1

Boat: 36' steel cutter
Tidal Grid Usage...How To?

Well, spring is at hand and the cold, cold waters of Alaska and last spring's 3 weeks on the hard do not warrant a full haul-out, but I would like to inspect the hull. Luckily I am in a place with 17ft of tidal change and all I have to do to put the boat on the grid is sign-up for a slot.

Thing is that I have no experience with tidal grids. The boat seems like it will have no problem sitting on the grid, the ties are 10ft on center and 12" wide, the foot print of Bluewater's keel is 13 feet long and 20+ inches wide at the middle and 12+ inches at the entry. So I am not worried about her fitting. The keel has a bit of an angle - see the picture - but the grid is not totally level, it has a bit of slope. So obviously I put her on facing up hill and know that she will be a bit bow down. That is fine.

So I am looking for advice on getting onto, being stable and then getting off the grid. What lines, where, when. Any advice or ideas you have would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Michael
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bluewater_profile.jpg
Views:	519
Size:	31.1 KB
ID:	3123  
Old 29-03-2008, 19:47   #2

Boat: Dragonfly 1000 trimaran
As long as you get the keel supported over 2 ties, you're golden.

I assume grid has a wall or pilings with which to tie.
Just motor in, tie up, and wait for the water to drop as you occasionally adjust lines to keep the boat upright and against the wall.
It should settle in place and you can get to work.

Reverse the procedure on the way up.

It's pretty basic.
Don't worry about it and if you get time, take pictures and post them.

Steve B.
senormechanico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2008, 02:07   #3