Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-09-2010, 17:20   #1

System 3 WS-LPU

Has anyone used this product? Looking to refinish the topsides. I've sprayed many solvent based poly's and auto enamels, but don't have the facility to filter the air. The System 3 seems ideal if the durability is near some of the other LPU's like Interlux Perfection. Thanks for the insights!

-SB
Southbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2010, 05:12   #2

Boat: Tartan, 41 TOCK- Bear
SB
I have used the system 3 LPU it is great stuff. I am a lousy painter and have been doing the "roll and tip" method- yea right! I now plan to buy a HVLP turbine set up. The sysyem 3 stuff is great for clean up (water), does not smell at all, reduces with water.
Once on, it is tough (hard as the hubs of hell), but sandable if you get to it soon enough. I've had it on the boat for about a year and it apears color fast.
Thanks
Ed
EddieS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2010, 06:45   #3

Boat: Searunner 34 Trimaran
When we were approaching the painting stage of our Searunner34 project... (about '94 or'95), I sent for a test kit, and let a sample "painted piece of glassed ply" sit face up in a pasture for 6 mos. It started chalking, so we opted for the tried & true solvent based LP paints. This could have been an unfair test for System 3 however, because it was new, and the "kit" did not include the catalyst! They said that for testing purposes, it was not necessary... Go figure?