Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-03-2022, 09:40   #1

Boat: Morgan Out Island 8.5m
Stiff Gear Shifter (newbie in middle of nowhere...photos atached)

Hi all, Im quite new to sailing, this is my first boat. Currently on anchor in the Exumas nowhere near any services and started to realize the last couple days that it has become harder for my gear shifter to move...in any direction between F, R, and N.

Not sure where best to start with troubleshooting, could be as simple as greasing things up, could be a cable about to fail, but as I said I am far from services and dont want things to go sideways here. Any tips on where to start looking for the problem and how to fix? I attached photos of the relevant bits for reference. The boat is an old 1973 Morgan Out Island 28, Yanmar 2GM engine.

Thanks for the help, much appreciated.

momo034 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2022, 10:52   #2

Boat: Sabre 34II
Re: Stiff Gear Shifter (newbie in middle of nowhere...photos atached)

Photos didn't come through.

It is a tiller steered boat, right? If the shifter is on the side of the cockpit well can you look on the other side of it - cockpit locker or from the quarter berth?
Knotical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2022, 11:09   #3

Boat: Landfall 39 - Ron Amy

Check the cable first. Disconnect the cable end from the gearbox and then try wiggling things to see which component is stiff. Might be as easy (for now) as a squirt of lubricant in the cable ends, but if not also inspect the whole length in case of visible issues (bulging or bursting sheath) caused by internal corrosion.
Oeanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2022, 11:46   #4

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Fiberglas shattering 44' steel trawler