Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-04-2018, 05:50   #1

Boat: Cal 2-30
Repainting Interior of Cal 2-30

Hi all,

I'm the new owner of a Cal 2-30. One of my first projects is going to be stripping off the paint (and mold) in the interior and re-painting it. I've done a bit of research, but I'm totally new to this type of work. I figured I'd run my plan past the forum so that someone can point out the obvious thing that I'm overlooking.

Here is an Imgur album with pictures of the current interior.

Step 1: Remove paint
After scraping off the loose stuff, I've got a belt sander and an orbital that I'm going to try first because it seems they would be most efficient, but according to some old forum posts, a soft wire wheel or 3M Roloc Bristle Discs and aircraft stripper seem to work really well. Do you expect the aircraft stripper to be necessary? I want to do this right. 60 or 100 grit seems to be the way to go?

Step 2: Clean
Vacuum and wipe down. I found an article that referenced cleaning with a TSP Solution and acetone - is it only necessary to use both of those to remove the wax that the article references?

Step 3: Prime
Not sure exactly what kind of primer I'll use but it sounds like it's necessary so I'll figure that out

Step 4: Paint
Seems like the consensus is to use exterior house paint so I'm planning on using something like this. I've read about a few people mixing an anti-mildew agent into the paint so I'll probably do that. Does anyone have any suggestions on that front? For application, I'm planning on just rolling on as much as possible because most of the surfaces are flat.

That's my plan. Please rip it to shreds!

Sean
Old 05-04-2018, 06:16   #2

Re: Repainting Interior of Cal 2-30