Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-07-2017, 09:09   #1

Boat: Lagoon 40
Refinish Cabin Sole and Table

I am looking to re-finish or at least re-coat my cabin sole and salon table on my 1997 Hunter 42 Passage. While neither are in real bad shape, they would benefit from some cosmetic refreshing. I am no expert on woodwork finishing, so I am looking for some advice on technique and materials/products.

Cabin Sole
This looks to be a veneer on ply. Its not in bad shape except for a couple of dark parches that appear to be water penetration over a bulkhead. However, I can live with this discoloration as it has not affected the finish. I think I can remove the sole in panels as I have had several of them out individually for various projects. My thought is a light sanding, then several coats of a good quality varnish. Does this sound right? Any advice on the varnish?

Salon Table
This is an interesting one. Again, not in too bad shape, just looks like it would benefit from refreshing. It seems to be solid wood, but has a strange finish on it. Condensation or water from a cold glass produces an instant white ring on the finish, but this disappears when it dries out. This leads me to think it was finished with something other than regular varnish. Any clues? Any way I can determine what finish it currently is and what is compatible with it? Could this be Shellac or something exotic? If so, how do I proceed?

Thanks for any advice and insight.
Neil
Ndavies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2017, 12:40   #2

Boat: Hylas 49
Re: Refinish Cabin Sole and Table

The veneer on the sole it thin. Use stripper. I prefer CitriStrip. Use wood bleach (Oxalic acid) to remove dark spots. Then refinish with whatever you like.
Condensation rings are common. Go sailing. They willeveporate.