Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-02-2017, 17:15   #1

Opinion on crack in my hull

Hello, i am restoring a 1982 Universal Montego 19. I have some small cracks just forward of the centerboard\ keel. I am new at this, are these serious, and is it something i can do myself.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AA1.jpg
Views:	192
Size:	403.2 KB
ID:	141863   Click image for larger version

Name:	AA2.jpg
Views:	200
Size:	166.7 KB
ID:	141864  

Rangerbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2017, 17:37   #2

Boat: 2017 Leopard 40
Re: Opinion on crack in my hull

Looks like gelcoat cracks from flexing. It might be cosmetic, but being underwater it could let water in to permeate the layup. I would grind it out until you find translucent fiberglass (if it's opaque white it is damaged). Most fiberglass is either clear/milky or greenish or pink all is OK so long as it's also somewhat translucent. Then build it up with epoxy and cloth roving (woven, not matted). Check out the West System web site for repair recommendations and instructions.
SailFastTri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2017, 03:47   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Bill.

GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2017, 18:23   #4

Thanks for the reply, I have never worked with fiberglass before. The boat yard where I bought it said they would fix it if I bought it. But after waiting a month I gave up. One now wants $150 and another $550 to fix it. If the $150 guy doesn't work out, I will try to do it myself, I could get another boat similar to this one for not much more than the $550. Again Thank you. I will have other questions I am sure.
Old 24-02-2017, 18:54   #5