Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-07-2018, 21:46   #1

Boat: 1967 Alberg 30
Moving Chainplates to hull exterior on Alberg30...

Hello all, I am new to sailing and I am particularly interested in a few specific sailboats right now, in the 28'-32' range (i.e. Allied, Pearson, Alberg...). I have a question... From my research, I see that Allied had a habit of glassing over chainplates, and most people modify them, and the Alberg 30, has inadequate chainplates that should be upgraded and reinforced with heavier bolts (let's leave alone the mast issue for a later post ).

My question is this, how much would it effect the geometry of the standing rig, to move these chainplates to the hulls exterior? It seems that it would only be moving them 2-3 inches outward. It seems like it would be a big advantage to eliminate 6 potential leak points into the cabin. I would certainly reinforce the hull to meet the demands of chainplate stresses, but more than likely, they would be mounted directly outboard of the already existing chainplate supports.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. My focus right now is on the Alberg 30. I friggin' love this boat. But I have other full-keel/modified fins, that I'm interested in. But if anyone has experience with Alberg designed boats in the ~30ish foot range. I would appreciate your feedback.

Thanks.

-Harrison
WingRyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2018, 22:08   #2
rbk

Boat: T37
Re: Moving Chainplates to hull exterior on Alberg30...

Depending on your track locations is will affect sheeting angle and ability to point to some degree. Not knowing the boat too well, but a quick image search, you may have to hack the cap rail up some which may or may not allow water to infiltrate the deck/hull joint but looks minimal if any.