Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-12-2020, 09:41   #1

Boat: Caroff 36
Hull Stripping & Recoating Advice

I'm fairly new to CF and apologies if this has already been covered. I did search through the forums and couldn't find much on this topic so here goes...

I recently acquired a 36 LOA steel sailboat. The bottom paint was peeling away in many places due to so many layers of different types of antifouling and interleaved coats of primer/sealer. Also a few small spots of rust coming through. So I decided to strip the hull below the waterline as soon as it was hauled for winter (I'm up in frosty Canada).

I considered having the hull sandblasted by a pro but thought to save money by doing it myself. I've made several attempts at getting the layers of paint off. I've tried manual scraping, needle gun, grinder, orbital sander and manual sanding. Grit from 36-80, depending on what's available. Regardless of tool/technique, it is very slow and dusty work, even with vacuum attachments (yes I'm wearing a proper facemask with cartridges, eye protection and am fully clothed - I'd freeze otherwise). A couple days work and I've got about 5 sq ft completed. I estimate the boat to be 330 sq ft under the waterline. That runs to about 60 days of back-breaking work to get it cleaned to bare metal!

So, I'm looking for advice on how to make it go quicker and to achieve a surface quality that is going to ensure a good adhesion to the primer.

I'm considering buying a small used sandblaster i.e 80-100 lb and doing the sandblasting myself. Any advice on this such as what to look for in a (used) sandblaster, types of blast media to use, etc.? Also it is reasonable to think an amateur like myself could do the job well?