Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2019, 15:56   #1

Boat: 1982 O'Day 37
How to find this exhaust riser?

So I recently was running from Dorian and scooted into Indiantown Marina in central Florida. When I got there I noticed the engine room vents had soot coming out of them... clearly an indication of some kind of exhaust leak.

Down below I found the issue: (google album, hope this works)

https://photos.app.goo.gl/BUP44pQRso5zR3GJ7

basically, the riser coming out of the exhaust manifold, where it connects to the mixing elbow, cleanly broke in two.

I'm fairly new to marine engine work. How do I find a replacement for this? It's a 1982 Universal M-40 engine, and my google-** is failing me.

I'm getting hauled out next week (since I'm at a marina with haulout services, might as well take care of the stuff I've been meaning to do for a while) so I'd like to knock this out as soon as practically possible, but I'm having a problem discovering where to start. Universal no longer exists as a marine engine manufacturer.

Thanks for any input, I appreciate it
jholovacs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 16:07   #2

Boat: Catalina 36
Re: How to find this exhaust riser?

Looks like a home built job- remove the wrap you’ll probably find black pipe.
Cat36Mahalo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 16:39   #3
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Compass 790 , 7.9 metres or 26 ft

Yes another vote for homemade.'
What I would do if I couldn't weld is take it to a piping fabrication place & ask them to make a replacement in 316L stainless steel schedule 10 pipe.
You can make it out of cheaper black pipe but it wont last long ( maybe 3 years) whereas I've had 316L ss sched 10 pipe last 15+ years maybe longer as I sold boat.
A lot use ss tube but that can crack