Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-06-2015, 19:17   #1

How Do I fix this fiberglass?

The fiberglass on the hull (not the deck) a few inches beneath the forward mooring line chock has cracked/fractured, apparently due to the pressure against the glass from the line when the boat swings (I tried to attach a pic but I don't know if it posted). The glass is fully cracked and soft there. Questions:

1). Is this a critical time-sensitive fix (ie if I don't fix it quick, will water get in and do something awful like delaminate the whle hull, etc, or can I wait till after season to fix?).

2). How do I fix (I've never fixed fiberglass before...is this an easy, medium or hard job?). As you can tell, I'm not very experienced.

3). What can I do to prevent this from happening again (ie some type of metal fixture to protect the glass?).

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2649 - Version 2.jpg
Views:	558
Size:	12.4 KB
ID:	104465  
jakmedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2015, 20:54   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Wheeler Shipyard 83' ex USCG
Re: How Do I fix this fiberglass?

Can't really see the problem in your photo.
Temporary fix is to tape with a good holding watertight tape. It should last several months if the hull isn't flexing.
What I think you are showing is hull separation from hull flexing caused by downward pressure of the chock. If so, the builder assumed the wood trim would stiffen the hull enough. The hull/deck needs to be re-enforced or the repaired cracking will come back. From a shipwrights point of view, yachts from most builders are made to be pretty for the lowest possible cost. Most don't hold up to heavy use.