Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Construction, Maintenance & Refit
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-02-2022, 10:39   #1

Hit a rock. Minor Keel damage. How to repair

Hi All,
I hit a rock last year in my new (used) Hanse 470. The ding is at the front bottom of the keel, not serious and nothing structural but there is roughly an 8'x 8" ding on the leading lower edge of the keel, maybe 2-3" deep - it looks like it mostly disturbed epoxy or Bondo type stuff - not quite all the way to the lead (must have been previously repaired).

I would like to take a swing at repairing and faring this myself but I am a total Newbie when it comes to epoxy, glass and this kind of stuff ...

Could one of you folks give me some advice .....

1. what tools and gear I will need (tools, epoxy, glass, ...)
2. what repair steps (e.g. first grind, then ....)
3. any "gotchas" like - apply this right away after grinding, etc.
and/or
4. point me to any videos or books or posts ...

thanks so much
Stujac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2022, 11:06   #2

Boat: Nimble Artic 26
Re: Hit a rock. Minor Keel damage. How to repair

Me too
Old 06-02-2022, 13:39   #3

Boat: Cape Dory 31

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stujac View Post
Hi All,
I hit a rock last year in my new (used) Hanse 470. The ding is at the front bottom of the keel, not serious and nothing structural but there is roughly an 8'x 8" ding on the leading lower edge of the keel, maybe 2-3" deep - it looks like it mostly disturbed epoxy or Bondo type stuff - not quite all the way to the lead (must have been previously repaired).