Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Construction, Maintenance & Refit
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2022, 15:26   #1

General questions about sailboat maintenance/DIY repair?

Hello,

I have been sailing for two years while I was living in Poland. I just moved back to the USA and I am about to buy a 27ft Catalina. I never dealt with a sailboat bigger than 22ft. My uncle taught me how to sail EXCEPT how to maintain/repair a sailboat. Rents are high where I'm at and my plan is to liveaboard in the Catalina. If anything was needed to be repaired I would want to DIY it. My questions are

- best books/manuals on sailboat maintenance/repair? (I bought don caseys book)

- Most critical components to check daily/weekly especially on a old sailboat?

- how to repair or what should I check on a atomic 4 gas engine to make sure everything working properly

- how to fix or what should I check on my batteries in order for the electrical system to work?

- best website for buying sails/batteries/general parts?

- best toolsets for maintaining/repairing a sailboat?

Sorry english not my first language. Sorry for the questions Im just kind of overwhelmed and want to learn quickly before purchase. Thank you.
witty_smokes345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2022, 15:36   #2
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Herreshoff Caribbean 50
Re: General questions about sailboat maintenance/DIY repair?

Its a learning curve and a steep one . Maybe watch some of the youtubers that do there own maintenance !
Old 03-05-2022, 15:48   #3

Step 1.
Don't buy a boat with a gas engine.
Ballsnall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2022, 16:05   #4

Boat: 1982 Cal 31

Quote: