Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2019, 23:53   #1

Boat: Aloha 34
Fiberglass repair on keel

Last fall when I hauled out my new-to-me Aloha 34, I discovered a small damaged area on the bottom of the hull. Looking for some advice on how to go about repairing it. I've had very little experience with fiberglass repair previously, only repairing a small hole in the hull of a small runabout using several layers of glass mat with 2 part West system kit. Any comments or advice are welcome.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	keelrepair1.jpg
Views:	458
Size:	162.0 KB
ID:	189882   Click image for larger version

Name:	keelrepair2.jpg
Views:	235
Size:	437.3 KB
ID:	189883  

Click image for larger version

Name:	keelrepair3.jpg
Views:	264
Size:	443.4 KB
ID:	189884  
sunluvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 00:23   #2

Boat: Fisher pilothouse sloop 32'
Re: Fiberglass repair on keel

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunluvr View Post
Last fall when I hauled out my new-to-me Aloha 34, I discovered a small damaged area on the bottom of the hull. Looking for some advice on how to go about repairing it. I've had very little experience with fiberglass repair previously, only repairing a small hole in the hull of a small runabout using several layers of glass mat with 2 part West system kit. Any comments or advice are welcome.
Hi, might I suggest searching for posts by a member here, Minnaret I think is the name, a wealth of the information you are seeking.

Life is 10% the cards you are dealt, 90% how you play em
Uncle Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 00:41   #3

Boat: 50ft Custom Fast Catamaran