Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-02-2021, 12:24   #1

Boat: C.E. Ryder Southern Cross 31
Question Dyneema Chainplate Location

Hello everyone. This is my first time posting and I hope it draws a lot of interesting discussion.

I have a 1981 Southern Cross 31' with a rig that is as old as the boat, as far as I know. I therefore am in the process of drawing up the plans to replace it in the next few months. I have decided to use STS-HSR 75 from NE ropes as the wire replacement and using lashings for the tensioning system. The mast attachments for the shrounds will be Colligo Cheeky Tangs and the forestays and backstay will be attached via a Colligo thimble and clevis pin.

I currently have 316 SS chainplates (as old as the rigging), bolted each to a knee to connect the shrouds to the hull, all of which I have decided need to be replaced.

I like the idea of attaching "dyneema chainplates" to the bulwark. Allow me to explain.

The dyneema chainplates will be a 10 mm dyneema line spliced to either a sailmakers thimble or a frictionless ring. I will size these accordingly, of course. It will attach to the bulwark via a hole and stopper knot (Stevedore---ref. Colligo). The holes will have HDPE tubing epoxied into them so that they are watertight. For structural integrity, I will use a 1/4" thick by 4" wide and 3' long rectangular sheet aluminum bronze on the hull side and a 2" wide similarly sized piece on the deck side aligned with the respective shroud holes. The bulwark is approximately 3/4" thick FRP.

What are your thoughts? Is this idea structurally sound? Where might a problem lie?