Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-12-2020, 09:11   #1

Draining keels

Our keels had some water in them so we drilled a couple of holes to drain them out while we're on the hard doing some other repairs...
The port keel seems fine but the starboard keel is still draining after a few days and smells....
does anyone have any insight as to why water draining from a catamaran keel would smell bad? What might that indicate?
jimbarnebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2020, 10:08   #2

Re: Draining keels

Rot would be my guess. If water is slowly weeping out then it’s probably made it’s way into some tight spaces.
JC Reefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2020, 12:06   #3

Boat: Sayer 46' Solent rig sloop

I'm not an expert, here, and you might post a thread in the multihull forum, also, asking how to remediate it. What you have is a structural problem, and it does require repair. You found bad news, some of the laminate is very full of water to still be draining, but really, neither keel is in good shape, if they needed draining.

Sorry,

Ann
Old 19-12-2020, 12:08   #4

Uh, it would help to know the type of boat. Swing keels? daggerboards? glass moulded keels?

Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2020, 15:07   #5
Elvish meaning 'Far-Wanderer'

Boat: 56' Fountaine Pajot Marquises

I've had the same problem and don't start to freak out. Lots of cats have this issue. Mine is solid fiberglass with some foam sheets in it. The water also smells like 1 year old stank sea water. The real problem is that instead of being filled with air and pushing the boat up, it's heavy and slowing her down.