Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-01-2017, 22:26   #1

Boat: 42' Grand Banks M/Y
Dampen water pump vibration

Hi All,

I have a Jabsco 60 psi water pump which powers my fresh water system. Even using the hard rubber "feet" which come with the pump to dampen vibration, the whole boat shakes when the pump runs which makes a tremendous racket.

The pump is mounted on a wood base which is glassed in to the hull. I need to isolate this pump from the wood base. Anybody have any creative suggestions?

Thanks!
Blaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 05:58   #2

Boat: Prairie 36 Coastal Cruiser
Re: Dampen water pump vibration

I'd like to hear some ideas for this, too.

I tried to make a sound-isolating base by gluing a foam insulation board in between two plywood panels. It didn't really work and eventually came apart.

Maybe suspend the base from something, using rubber strips?
CaptTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 06:12   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)

SHURFLO Pump Silencing Kit #94-591-01
Pump Silencing Kit | RV Products

GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 07:18   #4
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38

Likely it's noise resonating through the structure and not just the plumbing.
Here is the thing, it's difficult to not build a sounding board that mounts a pump, think a drum head, if that board is not stupid stiff, its a sounding board. Filling the underside of it with foam will help a lot as will double isolating it.
When I bought my Generator, it's mounted on rubber engine mounts inside of the sound enclosure, I bought additional mounts from Nexgen and mounted the enclosure on them, so the generator is suspended by two sets of rubber mounts.