Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-01-2023, 09:14   #1

Boat: Hunter Passage CC 42
Crazy port lights

My 1993 Hunter 42 CC Passage has apparently been to hell and back, especially when I consider the condition of the port lights.

Here's a photo of the worst of the bunch:

Is this is the kind of damage that can be polished out? Any speculation as to what might have caused this? Can I replace it myself? Any good books or web sites that might lead me in a good direction?

I'm new to this, so all ideas welcome!

/mark
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	portlight craze 20230129_144246.jpg
Views:	336
Size:	433.7 KB
ID:	270838  
K1MGY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2023, 09:24   #2

Boat: no boat any more
Re: Crazy port lights

the crazing seriously weakens the lens. (I once fell through a hatch lens (I <70kg).
what's the brand?
Old 30-01-2023, 10:04   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by double u View Post
the crazing seriously weakens the lens. (I once fell through a hatch lens (I <70kg).
what's the brand?

It's on a Hunter 42. The hatches are all Lewmar. This is just a solid plexiglas (?) port light.
Old 30-01-2023, 10:11   #4

Boat: Catalina 320

That won't polish out, replacement is the only option, many do it themselves but it can be a labor intensive. Assume you mean the fixed ports. I'll attach one source for replacements.
https://shop.hunterowners.com/hp/hpcat.php?m=42&c=2
Calif.Ted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2023, 10:48   #5

Standard Port (Old) 0 Opening 177 x 326 6,97 x 12,83 Acrylic 360015099

Standard Port (Old) 1 Opening 193 x 369 7,6 x 14,53 Acrylic 360016099

Standard Port (Old) 2 Opening 177 x 427 6,97 x 16,81 Acrylic 360017099

Standard Port (Old) 3 Opening 193 x 451 7,6 x 17,76 Acrylic 360018099