Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-06-2024, 12:59   #1

Bottom painting for a newbie

Hi All,

I have been sailing for around three years on OPBs, and after around a year of looking, I have finally bought a boat. It is currently on the hard, and I have a tight window to deliver it home to Baltimore. I am planning to drive up and spend this weekend prepping things, and I am considering whether to attempt a quick bottom job while I have the chance. The paint doesn't look terrible except for a few spots where it has flaked off down to some older antifoul, or possibly to primer. It was reportedly stripped back to gelcoat at some point, and had an epoxy barrier coat. Survey didn't find any blistering. The hull-to-keel joint is visible, and could probably do with fairing, but the surveyor didn't seem to think it was anything to worry about (it's fairly tight, and the keelbolts looked good to him), and if I am going to work on the bottom, it is going to have to be a bit quick and dirty. The PO says he believes the last coat he used was Sea Hawk, but advised me to consult with locals about the best product to use.*

So, should I try to paint it in a day and a half?

Should I attempt to fill the flaking areas with something? If so, with what? I assume some sort of epoxy fairing compound? How far would I have to sand back before application?

How much, if at all, should I sand the rest of the bottom? What grit, and is dry sanding ok, or does it need to be wet sanding?

If you happen to be in the middle Chesapeake, what antifoul do you use? Would there be any compatibility issues?

How many gallons should I buy (the boat is 30' at the waterline, with 11.5' beam)?

I'm not sure whether I am overthinking things, or underthinking them, but I