Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2015, 08:21   #1

Boat: 55' sloop.
Bleach and Fiberglass

I am not a materials scientist, and have read a lot of salty threads and advice suggesting that bleach (and in this case I mean Sodium Hypochlorite, not the stuff that makes suicide blondes!) must not be used in the context of fiberglass.

However, on closer examination of this commonly held conviction, I have found significant quantities of the likes of this:

Corrosion Resistance Makes FRP Ideal for Handling Sodium Hypochlorite

https://plasticstoragetanks.com/sodi...rage_tanks.htm

It appears that professionals seem to use fiberglass as one of two primary means of storage of industrial quantities of concentrated sodium hypochlorite for extended periods.

So… can any actual materials scientists or other bright sparks who happen also to be boaties clarify the bleach on fiberglass question for me/us?

Does it depend upon the original composition of the fiberglass? Is this just another myth? Clarity would be appreciated!
‘Structural engineering is the art of modeling materials we do not wholly understand into shapes we cannot precisely analyse as to withstand forces we cannot properly assess in such a way that the public at large has no reason to suspect the extent of our ignorance.’
Muckle Flugga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 08:31   #2

Re: Bleach and Fiberglass

I love your tagline!
jwcolby54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 08:33   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwcolby54 View Post
I love your tagline!
Thanks matey. Enter it into Google in quotes and you will find out where it originated.