Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-02-2018, 08:54   #1

Boat: 2012 Seaward 32 RK
Best self contained tool kit

Just wondering what kind of tool kits folks have and where they got them. Sears, Harbor Freight, Defender? Feel free to put links if you choose.
mjgill1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 11:21   #2

Boat: 1980 Endeavour 32
Re: Best self contained tool kit

I would definitely like to hear from people on this too. I'm a fair mechanic - I think anyone going away from a dock should know there way around most of their systems AND be able to effect some level of repair - but I love to see what other guys are carrying around.

Wait - that sounds funny huh ?

OldManMirage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 11:47   #3

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Denmark (Winter), Helsinki (Summer); Cruising the Baltic Sea this year!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54

There are different threads in the archives on this. What tools you need depends on what kind of sailing you do. I cruise long distances, so I have about a quarter ton (probably) of tools and parts on board, including a full set of power tools including a drill press. Hand tools are divided into Common, Big, Wrenches, Electrical, and Plumbing.

They say cruising is "boat repair in exotic places". Believe it! My next boat will have a proper workshop.
We must have a turn together . . . . I undress . . . . hurry me out of sight of the land,
Cushion me soft . . . . rock me in billowy drowse,
Dash me with amorous wet . . . . I can repay you."
Walt Whitman
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 11:53   #4
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38

There is no one tool kit that I have ever seen that was worth having.