Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-07-2017, 14:21   #1

Boat: 1975 Fuji Cutter 35
Advice on repairing leaking gudgeon

Hi all,

Just bought a 1975 Fuji cutter 35, and she is our first boat (yay!). Unfortunately, she has a wet rudder and leaking gudgeon. The wet rudder we think/hope/pray we can deal with but how to start repairing the gudgeon?

I'm new to everything, raring to start but know there's lots to do. Thanks in advance for any helpful advice.
crisscan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2017, 15:37   #2

Boat: Seafarer36c
Re: Advice on repairing leaking gudgeon

Are you using the right term for your problem? Seems like stuffing box might be.
I remember from having an MG, gudgeon is english for wrist pin.
model 10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2017, 15:51   #3

Hi Guy,

Thanks, yes I believe so as this is what the surveyor pointed out and those were his terms used. I attached a photo as well to my original post. We have a full keel rudder, and the leak looks to be most serious in the portion where the aft lowest point of keel is bolted to the rudder.
Old 21-07-2017, 16:18   #4

Ah, gudgeon "pin" at the bottom of the rudder. Is this leak into the boat or into the rudder?
Old 21-07-2017, 16:40   #5

The rudder is wet, so into the rudder for sure. She was briefly put in water to test sail and check engine, but she is now back on the hard. I've been looking more into it, and I think it's called the rudder shoe. That part is moist with rust colored water. I'm sorry, does that help?
Old 21-07-2017, 17:14   #6

I thought the rudder shoe was on the hull and the rudder shaft was the pin. It's common for the leak to be around the shaft. If the rudder is hollow, cut a hole in the side and pour in some epoxy.
Old 21-07-2017, 18:17   #7
Marine Service Provider