Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-01-2022, 08:31   #1

Boat: Newport 30
Add a Windlass to a 30 foot sailboat

Hello all.
I want to add a windlass to my Newport 30. While I have some fiberglass experience, completing a structural addition is out of my league. I'm fine with the electrical/control system installation.

I would like to hear from anyone who has done this. Should I attempt it myself? Or should I bring in a pro. My boat is in Saanich, BC. Does anyone know a pro in the area?

Thanks

Steve
westwon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2022, 08:50   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Fiberglas shattering 44' steel trawler
Re: Add a Windlass to a 30 foot sailboat

Let's consider the task. You're comfortable with the electrical part, including the switching, probably including a relay, and the large conductors back to the battery. The complexity of the mechanical part likely depends on whether you will have to build up anything on top of the deck to position the windlass. If it can go somewhere flat, the only real challenge is a large plate under the deck, with through bolts, to distribute the load. You don't want the windlass pulling out or damaging the deck under load. That plate might be the same size as the base of the windlass, mounted under the deck, or larger and even larger plus additional through bolts around the edges. You can use your judgement or seek "is this big enough" advice. You could also check under your existing winches to see what level of backing was used there.

Positioning the plate? Drill a small hole downward at the center of the windlass, and use that to center the plate underneath.