Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-01-2008, 09:44   #1

Boat: Pearson 10M
Yanmar 3QM30F

Hi All,

I am looking to replace the Atomic 4 in my Pearson 10M with a diesel. I am able to get a Yanmar 3QM30F in a dis-assembled condition for < $1000 with all the parts and a put-it-together manual. The engine timing case needs repair/welding as it has a hole (?) I am a technically savvy engineer but new to boats and diesel engines. At this time I have time to spend on putting together the engine with some help.

Does anyone have some advice? Is this a good idea? Hs anyone replaced a A4 with 3QM30F? What is the difference between a 3GM30F and a 3QM30F. I guess 3GM is newer.

Also I cannot find the drawings or any technical information on the 3QM from the Yanmar site (very poor website site when it comes to technical information on current and past engines). Can anyone help me with those or point me to the place I can get them?

I am located in the SF Bay area, CA. Thanks.
msoneji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2008, 10:39   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Hartley Tahitian 45ft. Leisure Lady
My first question would be, why the hole in the cover???

For God so loved the world..........He didn't send a committee.
Alan Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2008, 15:08   #3

Yanmar 3QM30F

Alan,

The answer to that question was "the hole is caused by raw water "ocean water" leaking on the cover and not fixing the broken clamp
or hose or what ever caused the drip."
Old 31-01-2008, 17:44   #4

run fast and far......

The QM will be heavier and larger than the AT4. Parts are available for the QM but supplies are dwindling with time. That engine has been out of production for about 25 years.