Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2023, 04:59   #1

Boat: Fury 34
Volvo Penta terminology

Hi All,

I have a 34ft timber motor boat powered by a Volvo 305hp TAMD70E inboard engine, I have owned these for a couple of years now, and Im no way mechanically inclined...
Regardless of regular servicing I am now finding out there is a problem that should have apparently been obvious a while back, but not communicated by a mechanic I no longer use, however a more recent mechanic has confused me and Im hoping someone might be able to clear it up.

After hearing a grinding noise from the engine a mechanic advised me 2 things, my cooling system needs a flush, but more relevant to the noise, the circulation pump bearing is buggered.

Looking at the engine manual I can only find a sea pump, is this the same thing?

Cheers
BuX
iTs_BuX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2023, 05:23   #2

Boat: 58' Sedan Bridge
Re: Volvo Penta terminology

Yes, sea pump is likely same as what he's called circulation pump. (I suspect he'd have said fuel pump or oil pump if he had meant one of those.)

Sea pump (sea water aka raw water) circulation pump is related to the "cooling system needs a flush" too. Sea water flows around engine oil and engine coolant (captured in systems within the system), similar to the way air flows around coolant in an automobile radiator.

Sounds like you need improved raw water circulation. One step is to flush the system, the other is to be sure the pump is working correctly.

-Chris
Old 02-02-2023, 06:28   #3