Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-03-2021, 20:21   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Boat: Perry 43 Catamaran
Posts: 33
Tachometer for Yanmar 3JH2TCE

Hi, I'm looking for replacement tachometers for my Yanmar 3JH2TCE. I have the panel it's just the tachometer that I need, it says P=114 YM-0234-001.
I have found several on eBay but they have different numbers eg P=116 or P=117 etc.
What does the P stand for and can I use non Yanmar aftermarket tachometers and where would I get them and do they need adjustment for setting up?
HueyHuey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 21:19   #2
Certifiable Refitter/Senior Wannbe
 
Wotname's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South of 43 S, Australia
Boat: C.L.O.D.
Posts: 12,364
Re: Tachometer for Yanmar 3JH2TCE

The P is the numbers of pulses per single revolution of the engine. It equates to the number of teeth on the ring gear on the flywheel.

The Yanmar alternator pickup counts the number of teeth that pass it per revolution and creates one pulse per tooth.

You can use a variety of aftermarket tachs and some can be sensed by the Yanmar flywheel tach sensor and others can be sensed by the alternator 'W' lead.

Not all alternators have the 'W' lead fitted but all alternators can be modified to have this 'W' lead.
__________________
All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangereous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. T.E. Lawrence
Wotname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 22:09   #3
Certifiable Refitter/Senior Wannbe
 
Wotname's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South of 43 S, Australia
Boat: C.L.O.D.
Posts: 12,364
Re: Tachometer for Yanmar 3JH2TCE

Note: some aftermarket tachs can be adjusted over a wide range, some over a small range and some can't be adjusted at all.

Some can be adjusted by dip switches, some by a trim pot and some by computer programming (either in the field or in a workshop). There is quite a variety of options .
__________________
All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangereous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. T.E. Lawrence
Wotname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 22:48   #4
Registered User
 
chrisr's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Australia
Boat: Tasman 40' catamaran
Posts: 1,207
Re: Tachometer for Yanmar 3JH2TCE

just a little off topic (sorry) but we have the same issue with tacho on one of our 4JH2-HTEs

one reason i've put of getting a new one is the hour meter

does anyone know if it is possible to re-set the hour meter to match the actual reading on the tacho being replaced ?

cheers,
__________________
"home is where the anchor drops"...stuck at Lake Mac for a while due to medical problems...heading north soon...
maintaining social distancing !
chrisr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2021, 09:58   #5
Registered User
 
bailsout's Avatar

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Morro Bay, CA
Boat: Herreshoff 28 modified ketch- wood
Posts: 311
Re: Tachometer for Yanmar 3JH2TCE

When my Yanmar tach stopped working two years ago, I removed it. I didn’t replace it. I have no tachometer problems now.��
bailsout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2021, 10:18   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Langley, WA
Boat: Nordic 44
Posts: 1,624
Re: Tachometer for Yanmar 3JH2TCE

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisr View Post
just a little off topic (sorry) but we have the same issue with tacho on one of our 4JH2-HTEs

one reason i've put of getting a new one is the hour meter

does anyone know if it is possible to re-set the hour meter to match the actual reading on the tacho being replaced ?

cheers,
Hour meters are usually tamper resistant for obvious reasons. My old VDO tach would not log hours unless it got pulsed. When it broke I wrote the old hours in the logbook and started anew. I saved the old tach if anyone wants to see it.
stormalong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2021, 11:03   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ME, TCI, On da boat
Boat: Pearson 323, Tayana V42CC
Posts: 733
Images: 1
Re: Tachometer for Yanmar 3JH2TCE

This one should work but check the manual first. Righteous seller. I got fuel filters from him.

https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums...er-246115.html
Scubaseas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2021, 14:25   #8
Registered User
 
OldGreyB's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Coast, Australia
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 94
Images: 1
Re: Tachometer for Yanmar 3JH2TCE

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisr View Post
just a little off topic (sorry) but we have the same issue with tacho on one of our 4JH2-HTEs

one reason i've put of getting a new one is the hour meter

does anyone know if it is possible to re-set the hour meter to match the actual reading on the tacho being replaced ?

cheers,
Chrisr,
If you are hands on, or have a friend whom is hands on then just replacing the hour meter may work for you. I have two on order at this time for the same reason. See these links:

How to replace the hour meter:


One of many sites offering the hour meter (Note Yanmar and VolvoPenta all appear to use VDO or equivalent OEM meters):

https://www.ebay.com/itm/LCD-Display....c101195.m1851

According to my research the replacement hour meter shows the correct hours as that information is held within the tachometer head, so changing the hourmeter only allows one to maintain the original hours run. Until I have completed my change outs I will not know for sure.
OldGreyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2021, 14:44   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ME, TCI, On da boat
Boat: Pearson 323, Tayana V42CC
Posts: 733
Images: 1
Re: Tachometer for Yanmar 3JH2TCE

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisr View Post
just a little off topic (sorry) but we have the same issue with tacho on one of our 4JH2-HTEs

one reason i've put of getting a new one is the hour meter

does anyone know if it is possible to re-set the hour meter to match the actual reading on the tacho being replaced ?

cheers,
Contact a speedometer repair company and they can probably do it for you. The Yanmars are basically an hour meter inside the tachometer. Some later Volvos the hour meter is just a display and the hours are adjustable with the proper software and tooling. There are several YouTube videos showing how to replace or repair an hour meter in a Yanmar/VDO tachometer. You can probably send your tach into a speedo shop and have them replace the hour display and set the hours to whatever you need. I'd also make a statement when you sell the boat that the hour meter may not be accurate the same way most auto titles have a space for.
Scubaseas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2021, 15:54   #10
Registered User
 
neworleansrich's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 94
Re: Tachometer for Yanmar 3JH2TCE

FYI replacing or adding a tachometer to diesel engines.

Most inexpensive, off the rack, tachs (like Sierra) are only set up to accept spark pulses for 2 4 6 or 8 cylinder gas engines. Diesel engines commonly use either a gear sensor or alternator pulse train, hence the number of pulses per revolution can be almost anything. For example, I have a Cat 3126b that produces 120 pulses/revolution.

I found these cheap Tachs on eBay sold by many different "overseas" sellers that offer an alternative:


https://www.ebay.com/itm/85mm-Car-Tr...53.m2749.l2649

While, the descriptions do not explicitly say what range of pulses they can accept, it turns out they can be set to very wide range, up to at least 200 pulses/rev.
neworleansrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2021, 20:56   #11
Registered User
 
chrisr's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Australia
Boat: Tasman 40' catamaran
Posts: 1,207
Re: Tachometer for Yanmar 3JH2TCE

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldGreyB View Post
Chrisr,
If you are hands on, or have a friend whom is hands on then just replacing the hour meter may work for you. I have two on order at this time for the same reason. See these links:

How to replace the hour meter:


One of many sites offering the hour meter (Note Yanmar and VolvoPenta all appear to use VDO or equivalent OEM meters):

https://www.ebay.com/itm/LCD-Display....c101195.m1851

According to my research the replacement hour meter shows the correct hours as that information is held within the tachometer head, so changing the hour meter only allows one to maintain the original hours run. Until I have completed my change outs I will not know for sure.
many thanks. our tachos must be fairly old as they seem to use a fully mechanical hour meter...

cheers,
__________________
"home is where the anchor drops"...stuck at Lake Mac for a while due to medical problems...heading north soon...
maintaining social distancing !
chrisr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2021, 21:00   #12
Registered User
 
chrisr's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Australia
Boat: Tasman 40' catamaran
Posts: 1,207
Re: Tachometer for Yanmar 3JH2TCE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scubaseas View Post
Contact a speedometer repair company and they can probably do it for you. The Yanmars are basically an hour meter inside the tachometer. Some later Volvos the hour meter is just a display and the hours are adjustable with the proper software and tooling. There are several YouTube videos showing how to replace or repair an hour meter in a Yanmar/VDO tachometer. You can probably send your tach into a speedo shop and have them replace the hour display and set the hours to whatever you need. I'd also make a statement when you sell the boat that the hour meter may not be accurate the same way most auto titles have a space for.
many thanks. that looks like what i'll need to do. trouble is these days nobody wants to repair anything...just replace with another bit ex china !

btw, our hour meters look to be 100% mechanical...

cheers,
__________________
"home is where the anchor drops"...stuck at Lake Mac for a while due to medical problems...heading north soon...
maintaining social distancing !
chrisr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2021, 22:17   #13
Certifiable Refitter/Senior Wannbe
 
Wotname's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South of 43 S, Australia
Boat: C.L.O.D.
Posts: 12,364
Re: Tachometer for Yanmar 3JH2TCE

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisr View Post
many thanks. that looks like what i'll need to do. trouble is these days nobody wants to repair anything...just replace with another bit ex china !

btw, our hour meters look to be 100% mechanical...

cheers,
Here you go, get these guys to repair your tach.
https://www.ottoinstruments.com.au
or these guys
vdo gauges tachometer smiths chronometric marine speedometer instrument repairs dials speed limiting

I have used the first one to repair a Smiths tractor tach (mechanically driven c1960) and friends have used the second one.

Both repairs were well done and reasonably priced (IMO).

NAMIISS (NSW) https://www.gauge-shop.com.au may be able to do it also but I haven't used them for repairs, only for new items. They were easy to deal with and seemed to know their stuff.
__________________
All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangereous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. T.E. Lawrence
Wotname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2021, 23:38   #14
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Boat: Perry 43 Catamaran
Posts: 33
Re: Tachometer for Yanmar 3JH2TCE

I might try one of the repairers first, as one tacho (revs) doesn't work and the other the hours are intermittent. It would be easier if both worked correctly, at least I can match both controllers for revs and I know roughly what the hours are from the one that works...😅
HueyHuey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2021, 00:17   #15
Certifiable Refitter/Senior Wannbe
 
Wotname's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South of 43 S, Australia
Boat: C.L.O.D.
Posts: 12,364
Re: Tachometer for Yanmar 3JH2TCE

HueyHuey, I didn't realise you were in Oz, so yep, get a quote/estimate from one of the repair shops I mentioned upthread.
__________________
All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangereous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. T.E. Lawrence
Wotname is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
yanmar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yanmar Tachometer Bouncing . . . Replacement ? akio.kanemoto Engines and Propulsion Systems 18 12-11-2011 15:12
Yanmar 2GM20 Tachometer gbendaly Engines and Propulsion Systems 5 03-10-2011 06:58
Yanmar 3ym20 VDO Tachometer Settings jussip Engines and Propulsion Systems 4 31-07-2009 08:16
Where is the Tachometer sensor on a Yanmar 4JH3e? MarkJ Engines and Propulsion Systems 9 31-01-2009 18:41
Yanmar with funny Tachometer 45Sticks Engines and Propulsion Systems 1 14-07-2008 18:41

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:52.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.