Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-02-2020, 10:24   #1

Boat: Gulf 32-Aeolus
Switched to Renewable Diesel!

I've been using biodiesel for many years here in the Salish Sea of Canada and WA, and though I have enjoyed the mechanical and odor benefits, it has become hard to acquire. At a recent talk at my local sailing club, the South Sound Sailing Society, we had a guest speaker from an organization called the Inside Passage Decarbonization Project founded and led by a gentleman named Peter Wilcox, who may, for all I know, be active on this site.

He spoke to us about ways we can reduce our carbon footprint on the Salish Sea, and many of his ideas were new to me, surprisingly. One, in particular, caught my attention, and that is Renewable Diesel. I'd not heard of it. Down in CA and even OR it is far more common because they have state laws that mandate the use of green fuels. Turns out, Renewable Diesel is a cousin of biodiesel but quite different. It is made from the same stocks of oil and fats, but is a direct drop in replacement for fossil fuels. It is clear, odorless and has higher cetane than either fossil or biodiesel. That's right, it is a direct replacement, and is being used by whole fleets of long haul truckers and municipalities in CA and OR who report better engine performance, cleaner engines, and no issues with seals or hoses.

I've converted over and am delighted. Better for my diesel, better for the environment, and my wife is happy to be rid of the "diesel smell" in our boat. I did a full post on my non-monetized blog if you like to learn more: https://gulf32aeolus.blogspot.com/20...le-diesel.html

Have you heard of this? Used this? I've got the zealotry of the convert right now.
Old 06-02-2020, 11:20   #2

Boat: O'day 322