Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2017, 14:00   #1

Boat: Outremer 45/pdq36
strainer after waterpump

I am new to diesel engines (3gm30) and have learned a great deal from the CF.
There have been a number of threads regarding impellor failure and repair .A constant theme has been recovery of the vanes and how difficult it is .

There has also been talk of a strainer between the pump and the engine.
On another thread there was a picture of a freshwater system strainer which I feel may not be able to take the load from the pump and also may not be rugged enough .
Has anyone install a strainer in this way and what did you use . I was thinking about another in line strainer like the one already installed before the pump.
The only things that I can think of that might be an issue are
1 flow volume
2 the strainer will be under pressure as apposed to a vacuum
3 would there be any issues with a longer hose into the heat exchanger
BTW the impellors are changed every season ,but this is a good place for a belt and suspenders approach, I an also considering the speed seal covers
admiralslater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 15:45   #2
Marine Service Provider

Boat: We have a problem... A serious addiction issue.
Re: strainer after waterpump

Ideally you would measure the size of the tubes I need your heat exchanger and use a mesh a size or two down from that. But a really fine mesh probably won't cause issues often. Only if you start sucking up seaweed small enough to pass your primary strainer, but large enough to clog the secondary.