Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-04-2014, 10:10   #1

Repower a Nonsuch 26

I am a newbie to this forum living in west central Florida and about to become the owner of a 1986 Nonsuch 26C. Existing boat has a 18 HP diesel of indeterminate hours. Re-powering these boats is an expensive proposition but a reliable power plant is a must and a bit more power than the 18 is desirable. What would be a reasonable upgrade - 25 or 30hp? Should I expect to replace or rebuild all or most of the power train at the same time - propeller shaft, bearings and prop? Advice on used / rebuilt engines vs new? Any recommendations as to brand of engine? Most of the major manufacturers seem to make a good product. Any help, advice or anecdotes will be greatly appreciated
mrbligh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2014, 11:09   #2

Boat: 1965 TollyCraft Voyager
Re: Repower a Nonsuch 26

It seems that a 25 or 30 hp would be overkill in your boat. What of simply having your current engine removed and sent out for remanufacturing? That way you can keep all of your bolt ons. Certainly inspect and if necessary replace fuel tanks. Definitely replace fuel lines/filters.
Likely a good time to send the transmission out for a once over as well.
If you are hell bent a new power plant, I would look at ease of maintenance and cost of parts for the various choices. Inspect the shaft. If you go with a new power plant you will probably need to re-prop.
MVNoPlans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2014, 11:29   #3

Boat: 40' Jeanneau

If the existing engine runs, I would NOT replace it or rebuild it. Give it a good, thorough maintenance check. Run it for a season and see how reliable it is. More than likely, it just needs a little TLC to give you several more years of good service.