Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2020, 10:25   #1
jas
Wonderer

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Wellington 44 cutter rig
Rebirthing Ford Lehman 80 after a few years on the hard

Looks like we're about ready to wind up an extended refit and have called to schedule a diesel mechanic to come get the Ford Lehman 80 hp up and running. Been sitting about four years with occasional starter engagements to make sure we weren't seized. However, when talking with mechanic, I got that cold chill down my back when he said it would be an ordeal. My background is in aviation and hold an A&P mechanic license which has stopped several shops from pulling the wool over my eyes and prescribing much about nothing. I have very little experience with diesel engines - other than checking the oil, exhaust for water flow, fuel filters and belts. She was running nicely during the delivery in 2016. So, would like some feedback about what I might be looking at here. Perhaps rebuilding the injection system? What else would commonly be prescribed for the ole girl? Many thanks in advance.

John Shearer
S/Y WONDER
Wellington 44
jas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 10:44   #2

Boat: 29 ft
Re: Rebirthing Ford Lehman 80 after a few years on the hard