Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-04-2018, 21:15   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Casco Bay, ME and the Philippines
Boat: '90 Jeanneau Voyage 12.5
Posts: 59
Racor model for Perkins prima?

Curious what model racor, filter size, and flow rate other perkins prima users are happy with. Opinions are all over the place and very general, hoping to hear some specifics in terms of fitting a solution before it hits the perkins filters for locales with less than stellar quality diesel.
sandrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 06:09   #2
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Jacksonville/ out cruising
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 31,322
Racor model for Perkins prima?

Also look at what size is most commonly available.
Not sure what a Prima is, but the Racor 500 series is I believe the most commonly available size. Itís much larger than needed for most sailboat engines, but availability of spares canít be overstated in importance.
If you know your going where fuel is sometimes questionable, a dual filter setup may be a good idea, not inexpensive though, and buy at least a case of filters.
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 07:57   #3
cat herder, extreme blacksheep
 
zeehag's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: furycame alley , tropics, mexico for now
Boat: 1976 FORMOSA yankee clipper 41
Posts: 18,833
Images: 56
Send a message via Yahoo to zeehag Send a message via Skype™ to zeehag
Re: Racor model for Perkins prima?

i like racors 500 fg model. can change the cartridges without breaking prime. excellent idea for maintaining while underway. is what i use with my perkins 4 108.
__________________
life is an adventure meant to be LIVED!!!!
https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums...oul+mates.html


https://sksolitarybird.org/
zeehag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 08:06   #4
Registered User
 
Cheechako's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Skagit City, WA
Posts: 22,903
Re: Racor model for Perkins prima?

The 500 series is fine. The filters allow far more flow than most sailboat engines require. The 200 series is fine but they no longer make it. But the bigger filter you have the less likely/slower you are to clog up with a bad fuel event.
__________________
"I spent most of my money on Booze, Broads and Boats. The rest I wasted" - Elmore Leonard











Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 09:17   #5
Registered User
 
ALLAN WARD's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Homeport : Port Owen , Cape West Coast , South Africa . Currently cruising .
Boat: SHEARWATER 39.
Posts: 118
Re: Racor model for Perkins prima?

I installed the Racor 500FG on my Perkins Prima M50 engine and it has worked perfectly.
It is one of Racor's most popular units and you can source replacement elements almost everywhere in various micron sizes. I spotted elements on shelves throughout Brazil even in fairly remote areas.
The unit is over-sized for the flow rates of the M50 which allows you to improve the micron rating of the element , in my case l fit the 5 micron.

The element is supplied with a body seal which should be replaced everytime you service the element.
__________________
www.windwardvoyage.blogspot.com
ALLAN WARD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 12:08   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: PNW
Boat: Bruce Roberts Ketch 40
Posts: 476
Re: Racor model for Perkins prima?

The larger the filter the less often you will need to change it.
My two racors are designed for 60 GPH each, while my 4 108 0nly burns 1 GPH.
1st filter 10 microns, second filter 5 microns ( Same as the filter mounted on the engine ) so I should never HAVE TO change the engine filter. Only as a regular maintenance line item.
I was able to find a bunch of filters, new in the box, on E Bay for about 1/2 price.
Maka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 13:18   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Panama City, Fl
Boat: Morgan Out Island 33
Posts: 37
Re: Racor model for Perkins prima?

I have a Perama M30. I like the Racor 500 too. Is it bigger than you need? Yes.
Parts/filer availability is great. I have the Racor vacuum gauges on both filters.
Because of the large filtering capacity of these units, you can go a long time between filter changes.
cwoflyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 16:01   #8
Registered User
 
michaelratinter's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Reno / Bodega Harbor
Boat: Bruce Roberts Offshore 44
Posts: 269
Re: Racor model for Perkins prima?

I have a Racor 500 filtering fuel for my Perkins 4.236. It is mounted at the highest point in the fuel system making filter changes quick and easy.
__________________
Rick
S/V Blind Faith
Bodega Bay, CA USA
michaelratinter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
model, perkins, racor

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a mechanic Referral Perkins-Prima Chief Engineer Engines and Propulsion Systems 4 02-05-2009 05:29
Perkins Prima 50HP Spare Parts ruedieppler Engines and Propulsion Systems 8 25-09-2008 12:23
Perkins Prima no start Chief Engineer Engines and Propulsion Systems 16 29-05-2008 20:24
My Perkins Prima engine only goes at 2000rpm Dave-Fethiye Engines and Propulsion Systems 16 24-03-2008 10:44
Perkins Prima Lift pump Poorly Designed Chief Engineer Engines and Propulsion Systems 9 11-01-2008 13:25

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:30.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.