Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-05-2020, 11:21   #1

Boat: Ericson 31
Newbie Q - Overheating/Rubber smell

Hey there, Newbie here. We bought an E31 awhile ago. We went to start it today and noticed a rubber smell with smoke. Also made a squealing sound for a bit ..

I shut down the engine (yanmar 3ym20) and noticed that the crankshaft pulley was blazing hot and it seems that the belt was making the smell.

Made sure that the seacock was opened before starting .. and waited to see water discharge before going below deck.

I have read a few things to check but wanted to get the opinions of some folks with experience

thank you!
Aaron
knotproper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2020, 11:28   #2

Boat: Bruce Roberts Spray, 36' Steel Junk-Rigged Schooner
Re: Newbie Q - Overheating/Rubber smell

Hi, you have a loose/worn/misaligned drive belt. It is slipping, and causing either your seawater or freshwater pump to not work properly. There is a chance that perhaps one of the pumps is jammed in some way, the result would be the same, and would damage the belt very quickly. So open them both up to check.

Edit - do not run your engine for more than a few seconds until it is fixed, and check your coolant levels, some has probably boiled away.
I have some experience with Yanmars, but my experience with this particular problem is with a BMC. But hopefully I can help
Old 23-05-2020, 17:11   #3

ok im back. Checked the coolant levels, both the tank and the reservoir have fluid. With this I assumed that there may be a blockage..

i decided to pinch down on the supply line directly to the raw water sea cock and noticed a crunching sound... this made me think there was a ton of crap in the hose so I disconnect it from the filter and stuff did come out.. not a ton but...