Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-01-2020, 15:30   #1

Boat: Lock Crowther 150
Newbie: adjusting valve clearance / valve lash

Hi,
I’m attempting to adjust the valve clearance on my Nanni 3.21 engines (Kubota D722).
I’ve never done this before and looking for some tips from the pros!
I downloaded the Kubota shop manual which details the process. The manual talks about lining up marks on the fly wheel to bring the cylinder to the top when measuring gap in the valves.
I don’t see any marks to know the position of the cylinder. How do I know when to check each valve?
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1824.jpg
Views:	4468
Size:	207.5 KB
ID:	206053Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1826.jpg
Views:	483
Size:	122.7 KB
ID:	206054
mrybas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2020, 15:49   #2
Moderator and Certifiable Refitter

Boat: C.L.O.D.
Re: Newbie: adjusting valve clearance / valve lash

In essence, make sure the piston is at top dead centre of the compression stroke and then adjust for that cylinder.

The timing marks make it easier but they are not essential.
All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangereous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. T.E. Lawrence
Wotname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2020, 15:49   #3

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Moody 31

Is there an inspection window in the bell housing that covers the flywheel, may have a plate over the top to keep fingers out which needs removing first.

Pete
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2020, 15:53   #4
rbk

Boat: T37