Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Engines and Propulsion Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-07-2009, 21:00   #1
always in motion is the future

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Sundeer 64
Jedi Adventures in the Engine Room ;-)

Hi all,

If you've read some of my posts before, you know I'm not a mechanic so when I go down into the engine room to do some projects, it's an adventure as soon as I open the hatch!

So, this thread is for tips that are good for even seasoned mechanics:

- check the drain-screw on your waterlift mufflers. I have Centek and they use a rubber washer behind the head of the machine screw. After only 4 years the original washer crumbled away when I loosened the screw after seeing some evidence of a tiny leak. When did you last check that? ;-)

- we have two of those really big battery on/off switches to select either start-batteries or house-batteries for starting. I noticed some stress marks in the plastic housing around the knob and when I switched it over, the whole knob with a piece of the housing attached came off. The internal spring pressure was too much for this switch after 15 years. This failure isn't fatal because you end up with access to the normally internal copper plates that the rotary contact (that is now gone) moves over. The small separation between the plates is good for putting a flathead screwdriver in so you can still start the engine. I would advise to turn your switch roughly a couple of times or pull the knob a bit to see if this is still sturdy.