Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Engines and Propulsion Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-04-2007, 14:09   #1

Boat: Endeavour 37 Ketch "Capella"
Jabsco Raw Water Pump ... I'm stumped!

I have a Jabsco water pump">Raw Water Pump on my Perkins 4-108 (Bronze casing - "3270-200" on the face plate). I'm stumped as to how to remove the rubber impeller in order to replace it. Is a special tool required? I know this is a routine preventive maintenance item for most folks, but everyone had to do it the first time. What am I overlooking? Any help here?

Also ... does anyone have a source for a Jabsco gasket?

Thx!

"Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum viditur." - Anything said in Latin sounds profound
KaptainKen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 15:47   #2
cruiser

Boat: Whiting 29' extended "Nightcap"
Jabsco sell an impellor puller however I've never used one. I used to use a couple of blunt screwdrivers to lever the old one out but the risk of damaging it or the housing is very real. Now I do a visual inspection without removing it, this includes twisting the shaft back & forth to see how much wear is in the splines or keyway.
NoTies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 16:19   #3
cruiser

Instead of paying the $40-$50 for the "impeller tool", I took one of the flat metal pieces that they sell with a decent size u-bolt and notched out a spot just the size of the impeller. I used my Dremel to cut the notch.

Any flat metal piece will do....