Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-04-2014, 22:15   #1

Boat: 2000 Outbound 44
Flushing Yanmar 4JH2E Coolant

Hello All, I'm new to engine maintenance. I could use some some help to make sure that I have this coolant flushing procedure right before I launch into it.

It was suggested that I drain the old coolant, fill with "Flush", run the engine for 1/2 hr, drain, fill with plain water, run engine again, drain and then repeat if still dirty or smelly; otherwise finish by filling with diluted coolant.
Does that sound right?

Questions:
how long will it take for the engine to cool down enough for me to drain the flush or water without burning myself or melting the plastic jug I'll drain it into? What "smell" would I smell if it's not clean enough yet? Any other caveats I need to be aware of?

Thanks so much for your help!
seabum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2014, 23:27   #2

Boat: It’s in French Polynesia now
Re: flushing Yanmar 4JH2E coolant

Without knowing how many hours on the motor I would be cautious about using a flush chemical. It could eat thru the heat exchanger unless you know when the last time the exchanger core was serviced.

I wouldn't worry about smell. Just make sure all the flush chemical is out. Run three different rinses.

When the temp gauge is below 120 it should be safe to remove the cap.
Old 18-04-2014, 23:33   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by delmarrey View Post
Without knowing how many hours on the motor I would be cautious about using a flush chemical. It could eat thru the heat exchanger unless you know when the last time the exchanger core was serviced.

I wouldn't worry about smell. Just make sure all the flush chemical is out. Run three different rinses.

When the temp gauge is below 120 it should be safe to remove the cap.