Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Engines and Propulsion Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-05-2018, 20:42   #1

Converting diesel to gas engine? Need help!

Hi everyone,

I work for an NGO and I am no expert on this topic. I have been tasked to figure out if it was cost efficient to convert a diesel marine engine to gas engine? We are thinking of doing a project to convert 30 boats in a fishing village (in a developing country), to help the livelihood of the villagers and improve on the pollution in the village.
The boats are around average 3.2 GT with relatively small motors (average 16 Hp).

Just want to know if this is cost efficient/ easy to convert? Do you guys have any other suggestions that we can do to help this village?

Thank you
Always_confused is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2018, 20:54   #2

Boat: Woods Mira 35 Catamaran
Re: Converting diesel to gas engine? Need help!

If you can replace with outboards in wells it might be an option.
Easier to fix and swap outboards too if need be.

Still keep in mind the issues with petrol and fire risks.
Old 20-05-2018, 21:16   #3
Now on the Dark Side: Stink Potter.

Boat: Sea Hunt 234 Ultra

Quote:
Originally Posted by Always_confused View Post
Hi everyone,

I work for an NGO and I am no expert on this topic. I have been tasked to figure out if it was cost efficient to convert a diesel marine engine to gas engine? We are thinking of doing a project to convert 30 boats in a fishing village (in a developing country), to help the livelihood of the villagers and improve on the pollution in the village.
The boats are around average 3.2 GT with relatively small motors (average 16 Hp).