Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-01-2020, 17:37   #1

Boat: Volkscruiser
Babying a diesel engine

As a marine surveyor I go on a lot of sea trials and I often hear owners say they do not push their Diesel engine beyond a certain rpm. I used to be in the same mindset thinking that the lower rpm will help the engine live longer?
But for years I have been observing trucks, earth moving equipment and even my Kia diesel car (320,000km). These engines all still last a long time despite being flogged fairly hard. So is it really going to make a difference to my engine life if I run my Yanmar 2GMF at 2000 or 3000 rpm?
Cheers
Fore and Aft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2020, 18:09   #2
Moderator and Certifiable Refitter

Boat: C.L.O.D.
Re: Babying a diesel engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fore and Aft View Post
As a marine surveyor I go on a lot of sea trials and I often hear owners say they do not push their Diesel engine beyond a certain rpm. I used to be in the same mindset thinking that the lower rpm will help the engine live longer?
But for years I have been observing trucks, earth moving equipment and even my Kia diesel car (320,000km). These engines all still last a long time despite being flogged fairly hard. So is it really going to make a difference to my engine life if I run my Yanmar 2GMF at 2000 or 3000 rpm?
Cheers
Given your 2GMF is already 37+ years old and has a rated max rpm of 3400, it probably isn't going to make much difference now!

A64pilot makes a good case for not running the engine at or near max rpm (with respect to internal wear) and I think his arguments have merit.

My take is that running them at very low revs (say 1000rpm) unloaded is bad.

Running them loaded enough to come to operating temperature is good.