Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 03-09-2009, 07:42   #61

Boat: Privilege 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastcat435 View Post
The difference between Spectra and Dyneema are uv resistancy, Dyneema is uv resistant.
Are you sure you aren't stretching the truth? All the sites selling Spectra webbing say that it is IS UV resistant.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastcat435 View Post
we produce the webbing in 3 different mesh sizes , 9 mm 12 mm and 17 mm
Do you actually produce it or just sell it?

I have no experience with either, just want to make sure we have the facts straight.
scotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 09:43   #62

Boat: Robertson & Caine Leopard 46
Tramp attachment with net

Quote:
Originally Posted by Audacity View Post
Trampoline material for Farrier F82R Trimaran.
I've recently purchased a 6yr old F82R and I'm looking to replace both the wingnets and bownets. She currently has very undersized Fablok wingnets, and some sort of nylon or polyester open netting for bownets.

I'm interested in the Dyneema nets, however the stainless steel or rope edging is not practical on the tri because of the need to untie part of each net from the beams in order to fold the wings for trailering. I've only seen photos on the African Cats site, not been able to see the net "in the flesh". Is it possible to sew an edge with grommets onto the Dyneema, and still end up with a good smooth and strong finished net?

Can someone explain to me what the difference is between Spectra and Dyneema as some websites I have visited use these names interchangably. Bryan mentioned the slipperiness of Spectra netting. Is this also the case with the Dyneema nets?

Another fabric I've been looking at is the Ferrari Précontraint polyester mesh: