Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2015, 11:43   #1

New boat - what to get and from who

Hi,

Newbie here with a plan to order a new catamaran in about one year to then sell up house etc and commence liveaboard retirement

Have been reading websites, books, magazines, and visiting heaps of boat shows. Still am not even sure how much I don't know at this stage, but am fairly convinced a new 40' Lagoon, FP, or Leopard will suit my wife and I for a multi year live aboard life in SE Asia.

I was hoping this forum may be able to help with suggesting a "base point" of what options to tick on the manufacturers order form, and also what options or choices are best provided by the manufacturer and what are best fitted once you have taken possession.

Cheers
smjack1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 15:27   #2

Boat: Catalina 470
Re: New boat - what to get and from who

smjack1,
There is actually a recent thread here (from just last month), that is almost directly on-point, with lots of specifics about "options" vs. "standard equipment", and what is acceptable to have fitted upon manufacture / at the factory, and what is almost always best to source elsewhere, and/or install / fit-out later (whether by yourself, a reputable professional, or the commissioning dealer..)
Please have a look here:

http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...ml#post1883554

Quote:
Originally Posted by smjack1 View Post
Hi,

Newbie here with a plan to order a new catamaran in about one year to then sell up house etc and commence liveaboard retirement