Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-03-2021, 21:20   #1

Help decide older Leopard 46 or newish leopard48?

Hi, I am looking to get a new for me catamaran. Yes, I am a newbie. Taken the sailing courses, wanting to wander off into the sunset after seeing too many youtube sailing channels.

I am looking around, I want long term comfort but some agility or speed would be nice. Looking at a 2009-11 Leopard 46, or around a 2013-5 leopard 48. Wanting owners version, but flexible.

The asking prices for some of the 46's seem almost as high as some of the cheaper 48s. I am seeing 4 cabin 46's for 380 and owners for 499 while the moorings has used 48s for 400k.

Are people asking too much for the 46s or are they worth nearly as much as the newer 48s?

What do you think about the two?

Between the two leopards, how do they compare in speed? sailing? misc?

Does anyone have one or had one and can you let me know what to look for when it comes to these?

Thanks in advance!
RedFinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2021, 04:42   #2

Boat: Shuttleworth Advantage
Re: Help decide older Leopard 46 or newish leopard48?

Like to be a bit more specific on your sailing off into the sunset plans. These are two very different boats is so many ways.

Just a brief look at the specs shows the 48 is 50% heavier with smaller sail area. So the 46 will perform better.
Tupaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2021, 06:42   #3

Boat: Razzle Dazzle - 61ft Simpson / Crowther Daggerboard Cat ‘93

Rented a 48. Really liked how it sailed. Saw 10 knts powered and 12knts under sail in ideal conditions.
Light wind is always slower.
Front door is really nice. Front cockpit gets salty with spray.
nfbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2021, 13:18   #4