Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-04-2006, 06:06   #1

Good names in cats

Hello all,

I'm new to cats, having been a leaner my whole life, however I've been doin quite a bit of research on cats lately, and am quickly falling in love. I'm actually planning on chartering one, and if I like it selling my mono for a cat. The comfort...oh the comfort.

Anways, what I have had a problem finding, however, is what a good builder of cruising cats is. I know the names, prout, catana, priveledge, voyage, ect. But which of these cats would you choose if you were going offshore? Which would YOU personally want with you when a squall is coming.

This is completely hypthetical and a very open ended question, but one I don't think has been addressed too extensively.

I'd rather no questions into how I'll use the boat, how much money I have to spend, where I'll be going, ect. As this isn't necessarly a question for my personal needs, just a curious look at quality of build.

Thanks in advance, and fair winds,

Will
will n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2006, 08:59   #2

Boat: Privilege 37
You will get an enourmous divergence of opinion about which is best. so here is my input:

Prout (especially Snowgoose Elite or 38ft) very capable offshore long distance cruisers, built for bad weather and proven over the years.

Broadblue - follow on from the Prouts - a much more modern design and better sailors (especially the 44) very good in bad weather.

Lagoon - solid french designs with nice interior (shame about the exterior) a lot of the charter boats are not tuned for sailing very well